Addiction

This addiction I can’t seem to manage

How can I love you so much?

Every time we encounter

You do me a little damage

I’ve spent thousands on you

I hate you.  I love you.

I’ve tried alternatives

gum, patches

But the pleasure you give me

Nothing matches

Self loathing encourages me to keep you around

But what about in thirty years

You will prematurely put me in the ground

Because of you I stink

If I don’t have you  every few hours

I just can’t seem to think

I’m tied down

Looking at freedom just out of my reach

I need to break away

These walls I need to breach

Not tomorrow.  Today.

But every year that I grow older

I wonder

Will I always be a smoker?

© copyright sbarlow 2012

8 thoughts on “Addiction

  1. Ami Fidèle says:

    Hey Mr Blue, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award 🙂

    http://amidereve.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/liebster-blog-award/

  2. doncarroll says:

    good one. i know this all to well.

  3. David Eric Cummins says:

    Very good. I just quit a couple of months ago myself.

  4. dukewalker says:

    Nicotine is a no class world traveler hitching rides on the bent backs of guilty victims such as you and me.

  5. i completely agree, thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

